top of page
Chipotle Asparagus Tacos
Chicken Caesar Naan Wrap
Greek Bruschetta
Chipotle Chicken Sandwich
Tagliatelle With Mussels

Coconut Pecan Granola

Busting with toasted coconuts and crunchy pecans, this is one of my favorite granola recipes. Easy to put together and makes for a great snack on its own, with milk or added to yogurt.

This is the easiest recipe to make, yet the hardest post to write because it’s the first. My mind is flooded with a million questions; Where do I start? Will I have a voice? Will I write enough? Will I write too much? Will I make the impact I’m truly after? Once the questions subsided I began to place my fingers on the keyboard and write, meeting yet another set of questions. Why are you doing this? Who are you to be sharing recipes with others? Why you?

I discussed this troublesome way of thinking with my husband and he responded quickly saying, “that’s Janteloven.” I knew right then that I succumbed to the very thing I loathed. You see, in Norway, they have their own version of “tall poppy syndrome” and it’s called “Janteloven”. I won’t go into great detail on the subject, as I do not want to pay it any respect, but I fell under one of the “rules” that you are not to think you are anything special.

I feel like I was in the seven stages of grief but turned backward and aimed at something beginning rather than ending. Is there a seven-stage program for starting something? The dream stage, blind boldness, doubt, second-guessing, overthinking, battling perfectionism, and blind boldness again. Maybe it goes something like that?

Nevertheless, the reason I’m sharing this with you is that maybe someone should admit that starting can be half the battle. Then again, that’s exactly how I conquered my fear of the kitchen. Just starting. Putting one foot in front of the other (so to speak). It can be scary, filled with self-doubt, fear, you name it. We can always acknowledge a hardship exists but we do not have to come under it. If anything, we should shine more light on the difficult things, it’s almost like an invitation for something greater. I always felt as though I should follow my passion and avoid the things that bring discomfort. Never in a million years would I have thought that following the thing that brought me discomfort would, in turn, become my passion.

So without further ado...

Let's get started!

Coconut Pecan Granola

3 Cups ( 222 g) Rolled Oats (not instant)

1 Cup (100 g) Pecans (lightly chopped)

1 Cup (75 g) Large Flake Coconut

2 tsp Chia Seeds (optional)

6 Tbsp (127 g) Maple Syrup

3 Tbsp (40 g) Canola Oil (grapeseed oil, raps oil, or any flavorless oil can be used)

1/4 Cup (54 g) Muscovado Sugar (dark brown sugar)

1 tsp Cinnamon

1/2 tsp Salt

1/2 Tbsp Vanilla

  1. Preheat your oven to 300 f/ 150 c

  2. Combine the oats, chopped pecans, coconut flakes and the optional chia seeds in a bowl and set aside.

  3. Combine maple syrup, canola oil and sugar in a microwave safe bowl or saucepan and cook on medium heat until the sugar has dissolved. Remove from heat and add the cinnamon, salt, and vanilla and mix to combine.

  4. Pour the liquid sugar mixture over the bowl of oats and mix until all ingredients are well coated.

  5. Line a large sheet pan with baking paper and distribute granola evenly.

  6. Place in preheated oven for 20 mins, mixing granola after 10 mins.

  7. Allow granola to cool on sheet pan

Enjoy!

Have you ever received granola as a gift?

I have, and it was so fun! Maybe not everyone would be overjoyed by a surprise food gift, but this gift giver knew her recipient. Now, while this is not the ripe she used, I decided to use the granola gift giving idea. Add some special touches like a personal note or even the granola recipe. Make it your own and have fun with it.

Related Posts

See All
Needing more inspiration?
Welcome!

I turned my fear of the kitchen into a passion for feeding others. Let's make food you can't help but want to share!

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
Find What you're
Looking For
Featured Posts

Need more inspiration?

bottom of page